Thyme Simple Syrup Recipe

thyme

Simple syrup is just that, super simple! I’ve been having lavender syrup in my iced coffee all summer, but I recently decided to change it up a bit. I’m a huge lavender fan, so I want my lavender supply to last me through the winter. (The recipe is basically the same, if you want to try it. Just replace the thyme with 2 tbsp dried lavender. You could also combine the two!)
My mother called me weird for putting thyme in my coffee, but I honestly can’t smell the herb without thinking creamy and sweet, just how I like my coffee! Why does it make you think creamy and sweet, you ask? Well, when Mark worked at the Brasserie Montmartre in Portland he was introduced to honey-thyme ice cream, and it quickly became his favorite flavor of ice cream. A few months ago he whipped some up with our ice cream machine (something he picked up at a thrift store for super cheap), and it really is just the most delicious ice cream I’ve ever had. And yes, it’s delicious in my coffee too!

You could also use the syrup in cocktails, Italian sodas, and sometimes I just have it with milk. Yup, we drink lots of milk around here. I’m all about dairy, and Mark grew up on a dairy farm. I knew it was a match made in heaven when I saw how much butter he could use in one meal!

Anyway, on to the super simple steps of making simple syrup!

thymesimplesyrup

Ingredients

1 1/2 cups sugar
1 1/2 cups water
10 sprigs of fresh thyme

Makes one pint.

Tools

Saucepan
Wooden spoon
Measuring cup
Small sieve
Pint jar

Instructions

Over medium heat, bring sugar, water, and thyme to a boil. Boil for two minutes, stirring occasionally. Remove from heat and let steep for 10 minutes. Remove sprigs, and pour syrup into pint jar through the sieve. Keep lid cracked until cooled. Lasts up to one week chilled.

Leave a comment